SLSY January 21, 2020

SLSY is an unofficial Sonic Youth website
and community for fans worldwide, est. 1998

Latest News

Click here for news archive.

The Diskaholics are back
April 10, 2005

Diskaholics Anonymous, which is the trio of Thurston Moore, Jim O`Rourke and Sweden's free-jazz icon, Mats Gustafsson are releasing a brand new album on the new Smalltown Supersound imprint Smalltown Superjazzz. The album is titled Weapons Of Ass Destruction and will be released the 12th of August when the trio plays at Oslo`s ya Festival.

Here is a short description of the album from the festival's site:
Legendary noise makers
Diskaholics Anonymous Trio (Thurston Moore, Jim O`Rourke and Mats Gustafsson)
Diskaholics Anonymous Trio consists of the not so anonymous Thurston Moore and Jim O'Rourke from Sonic Youth and the Swedish free jazz icon Mats Gustafsson. The trio released their first album in 2001 on Crazy Wisdom/Universal, but their new album Weapons of Ass Destruction will be released worldwide on Norwegian label Smalltown Superjazzz (free jazz/noise sub label of Smalltown Supersound).
The album has its exclusive release at ya, this being the trio's only appearance in Europe this year.
The music is avant/punk/noise/free jazz. Thurston Moore's guitar will make you think of New York in the eighties and Sonic Youth round about the time of Confusion is Sex/Bad Moon Rising, Jim O'Rourke's laptop was last heard on Wilco's monumental "Less Than You Think" on A Ghost Is Born, and Mats Gustafsson sounds like Albert Ayler playing punk rock. The result of these three titans clashing together is an intense blow-out. Raw, grandiose and brutally beautiful.
Mats Gustafsson has previously worked with Sonic Youth, when he wrote the piece "Hideros 3" exclusively for them, something which lead to the release entitled just that. Gustafsson has also played with the band live and worked with Jim O'Rourke since the mid-nineties, when he became a central part of the Chicago jazz scene. Gustafsson also plays with The Thing at this year's ya Festival. We're ecstatic to present such an exclusive feature and are looking forward to seeing these living legends of noise create reverberations that'll shake the very foundations of downtown Oslo.
Diskaholics Anonymous Trio plays the Seaside on Friday August 12.

Sonic Youth
Sonic Youth, initially comprising of guitarist / vocalists Thurston Moore and Lee Ranaldo, guitarist / bassist / vocalist Kim Gordon and drummer Richard Edson, were formed in New York City in 1981. A product of the No-Wave music scene of the late 1970s, the group had their roots in abrasive, experimental music, with Moore and Ranaldo having previously worked with the experimental composer Glenn Branca. The band were joined in 1985 by drummer Steve Shelley, and have now recorded 14 albums together, as well as many side and solo projects. Their work has been consistently challenging and innovative, and they are widely regarded as one of the most intriguing and influential bands of their time.


Request RejectedThe requested URL was rejected. If you think this is an error, please contact the webmaster.

Your support ID is: 4184029300612628294


Fan sites
Sonic Tooth
Sonic Truth
S.S. Beat Control
Starfield Road

Sonic Life
Jim O'Rourke
Summer Of Youth
Sonic Youth Newsgroup
Stefano Giovannini

Official Store
Ecstatic Yod
Forced Exposure


Protest Records
Experimental Jet Set
BB Gun Magazine
Jim O'Rourke
Mike Watt


  Website by Jani Komulainen and Neven Mrgan.
Copyright © 1998-2020 SLSY. +
top of page top