SLSY January 21, 2020

SLSY is an unofficial Sonic Youth website
and community for fans worldwide, est. 1998

Latest News

Click here for news archive.

Thurston in a box with The Thing
May 24, 2008

Now and Forever is a 4 disc box set contains The Thing`s longtime deleted and out of print first albums �The Thing� and �She Knows (with Joe McPhee). Also part of the box set is a new and never released 44 minutes impro suite, titled �Gluttony�, that was recorded in 2005 at the great Atlantis Studio in Stockholm. And then there is the highlight of this box set- a DVD with the concert that The Thing did at Oslo`s Oya Festival in 2005 with Thurston Moore on guitar. This is free music explosion, or as John Corbett writes in the box`s liner notes �no cover, no roof, no safety, no home�.
The box which is limited to only 2000 copies will be available via Smalltown Superjazz on June 2nd.
In the meantime you can read about this great label here.

Sonic Youth
Sonic Youth, initially comprising of guitarist / vocalists Thurston Moore and Lee Ranaldo, guitarist / bassist / vocalist Kim Gordon and drummer Richard Edson, were formed in New York City in 1981. A product of the No-Wave music scene of the late 1970s, the group had their roots in abrasive, experimental music, with Moore and Ranaldo having previously worked with the experimental composer Glenn Branca. The band were joined in 1985 by drummer Steve Shelley, and have now recorded 14 albums together, as well as many side and solo projects. Their work has been consistently challenging and innovative, and they are widely regarded as one of the most intriguing and influential bands of their time.


Request RejectedThe requested URL was rejected. If you think this is an error, please contact the webmaster.

Your support ID is: 4184029300614519390


Fan sites
Sonic Tooth
Sonic Truth
S.S. Beat Control
Starfield Road

Sonic Life
Jim O'Rourke
Summer Of Youth
Sonic Youth Newsgroup
Stefano Giovannini

Official Store
Ecstatic Yod
Forced Exposure


Protest Records
Experimental Jet Set
BB Gun Magazine
Jim O'Rourke
Mike Watt


  Website by Jani Komulainen and Neven Mrgan.
Copyright © 1998-2020 SLSY. +
top of page top