SLSY January 21, 2020

SLSY is an unofficial Sonic Youth website
and community for fans worldwide, est. 1998

Latest News

Click here for news archive.

Dirty reissue LP, SYR6 on the way, some live dates
March 2, 2003

Steve's label Smells like Records reports that there are plans to issue a 4LP-set of the Dirty reissue. This vinyl version will probably be released in the summer. The CD version will hit the shops on april 8.

Furthermore, Smells like Records also knows that Sonic Youth hope to soon finish production on the sixth SYR release which will feature their collaboration with French singer Brigitte Fontaine.

The band has also announced three live dates in spring, at the Coachella festival in Palm Springs, CA (27/4), at the Primavera festival in Barcelona, Spain (5/24) and at the Bonnaroo festival in Manchester, TN (6/13). Time may reveal more live dates in your area!

Smells like Records
Sonic Youth
Sonic Youth, initially comprising of guitarist / vocalists Thurston Moore and Lee Ranaldo, guitarist / bassist / vocalist Kim Gordon and drummer Richard Edson, were formed in New York City in 1981. A product of the No-Wave music scene of the late 1970s, the group had their roots in abrasive, experimental music, with Moore and Ranaldo having previously worked with the experimental composer Glenn Branca. The band were joined in 1985 by drummer Steve Shelley, and have now recorded 14 albums together, as well as many side and solo projects. Their work has been consistently challenging and innovative, and they are widely regarded as one of the most intriguing and influential bands of their time.


Request RejectedThe requested URL was rejected. If you think this is an error, please contact the webmaster.

Your support ID is: 4184029300640922346


Fan sites
Sonic Tooth
Sonic Truth
S.S. Beat Control
Starfield Road

Sonic Life
Jim O'Rourke
Summer Of Youth
Sonic Youth Newsgroup
Stefano Giovannini

Official Store
Ecstatic Yod
Forced Exposure


Protest Records
Experimental Jet Set
BB Gun Magazine
Jim O'Rourke
Mike Watt


  Website by Jani Komulainen and Neven Mrgan.
Copyright © 1998-2020 SLSY. +
top of page top