SLSY January 21, 2020

SLSY is an unofficial Sonic Youth website
and community for fans worldwide, est. 1998

Latest News

Click here for news archive.

The Second Original Silence
June 3, 2008

"As you may recall, Original Silence is comprised of Sonic Youth's Thurston Moore, man-about-town Jim O'Rourke, Swedish saxman Mats Gustafsson, Terrie Ex of the Ex, Paal Nilssen-Love of the Thing, and Zu's Massimo Puppilo. The Second Original Silence and follows last year's The First Original Silence. This new one was recorded at a September 28, 2006 performance at Rome, Italy's Brancaleone, and is due out on CD, LP, and digital August 11 from the Smalltown Superjazzz imprint". The cool cover art up is by Kim Hiorthoy.

The Second Original Silence:

01 Argument Left Hanging - Rubber Cement
02 A Sweeping Parade of Optimism - Blood Strea
03 High trees & a Few Birds - The Doll's Reflection
04 Crepescular Refractions - Mystery Eye

Original Silence will play Oslo`s �ya Festival Thursday the 7th of August at Rockefeller, support by Japanese instrumental girl trio Nisennenmondai. This will be full line up except Jim O`Rourke. To buy tickets go here.

Sonic Youth
Sonic Youth, initially comprising of guitarist / vocalists Thurston Moore and Lee Ranaldo, guitarist / bassist / vocalist Kim Gordon and drummer Richard Edson, were formed in New York City in 1981. A product of the No-Wave music scene of the late 1970s, the group had their roots in abrasive, experimental music, with Moore and Ranaldo having previously worked with the experimental composer Glenn Branca. The band were joined in 1985 by drummer Steve Shelley, and have now recorded 14 albums together, as well as many side and solo projects. Their work has been consistently challenging and innovative, and they are widely regarded as one of the most intriguing and influential bands of their time.


Request RejectedThe requested URL was rejected. If you think this is an error, please contact the webmaster.

Your support ID is: 4184029300622152156


Fan sites
Sonic Tooth
Sonic Truth
S.S. Beat Control
Starfield Road

Sonic Life
Jim O'Rourke
Summer Of Youth
Sonic Youth Newsgroup
Stefano Giovannini

Official Store
Ecstatic Yod
Forced Exposure


Protest Records
Experimental Jet Set
BB Gun Magazine
Jim O'Rourke
Mike Watt


  Website by Jani Komulainen and Neven Mrgan.
Copyright © 1998-2020 SLSY. +
top of page top