SLSY January 21, 2020

SLSY is an unofficial Sonic Youth website
and community for fans worldwide, est. 1998

Latest News

Click here for news archive.

Thurston Tuches The Iceberg
August 17, 2007

New release from Fuck It Tapes featuring Thurston. This cassette is from the particularly noisy excursion for Brooklyn, NY based freak-jazz troupe OWL XOUNDS EXPLODING GALAXY. The c44 cassettes are limited to 100 copies and titled "Touch The Iceberg": "featuring the core of drummer Adam Kriney (LA OTRACINA/Colour Sounds Recordings) and upright bassist Gene Janas, along with regular collaborators: 2nd upright bassist Shayna Dulberger (KILL ME TRIO/STONEY MOUNTAIN) and guitarist Gene Moore (HAT CITY INTUITIVE), and a special appearance from Gene's younger brother Thurston, also on electric guitar. Recorded live at Flywheel, Easthampton, MA in October 2006".

Sonic Youth
Sonic Youth, initially comprising of guitarist / vocalists Thurston Moore and Lee Ranaldo, guitarist / bassist / vocalist Kim Gordon and drummer Richard Edson, were formed in New York City in 1981. A product of the No-Wave music scene of the late 1970s, the group had their roots in abrasive, experimental music, with Moore and Ranaldo having previously worked with the experimental composer Glenn Branca. The band were joined in 1985 by drummer Steve Shelley, and have now recorded 14 albums together, as well as many side and solo projects. Their work has been consistently challenging and innovative, and they are widely regarded as one of the most intriguing and influential bands of their time.


Request RejectedThe requested URL was rejected. If you think this is an error, please contact the webmaster.

Your support ID is: 4184029300646064619


Fan sites
Sonic Tooth
Sonic Truth
S.S. Beat Control
Starfield Road

Sonic Life
Jim O'Rourke
Summer Of Youth
Sonic Youth Newsgroup
Stefano Giovannini

Official Store
Ecstatic Yod
Forced Exposure


Protest Records
Experimental Jet Set
BB Gun Magazine
Jim O'Rourke
Mike Watt


  Website by Jani Komulainen and Neven Mrgan.
Copyright © 1998-2020 SLSY. +
top of page top