SLSY January 21, 2020

SLSY is an unofficial Sonic Youth website
and community for fans worldwide, est. 1998

Latest News

Click here for news archive.

No Fun My Friends, No Fun
November 19, 2007

Exciting news coming from No Fun Productions. Nothing Make Any Sense, the new CD featuring a live recording of Nels Cline/Carlos Giffoni/Alan Licht/Lee Ranaldo is available now. This recording is described as "A constantly shifting and engaging long-form piece of developed drone, foreboding melody, and harsh grit, Nothing Makes Any Sense finds Lee Ranaldo (Sonic Youth), Nels Cline (Nels Cline Singers, Wilco), and Alan Licht pushing their guitars into a cacophonous state that bears much influence from the post-jazz fields they've all cut their teeth in but also bearing down a forceful brutality that has sometimes eluded their past material. While Carlos Giffoni uses his analog Synth mastery to adequately contend and mesh seamlessly with the trio of strings, letting his analog noise pulsate and pierce with its own sense of contained stampede".

Secondly, No fun productions has announced a forthcoming Thurston CD coming early in 2008. Thurston (with Nancy Garcia) will also take part in No Fun Fest 2008 which will take place at the Knitting Factory NYC in May 2008.

Sonic Youth
Sonic Youth, initially comprising of guitarist / vocalists Thurston Moore and Lee Ranaldo, guitarist / bassist / vocalist Kim Gordon and drummer Richard Edson, were formed in New York City in 1981. A product of the No-Wave music scene of the late 1970s, the group had their roots in abrasive, experimental music, with Moore and Ranaldo having previously worked with the experimental composer Glenn Branca. The band were joined in 1985 by drummer Steve Shelley, and have now recorded 14 albums together, as well as many side and solo projects. Their work has been consistently challenging and innovative, and they are widely regarded as one of the most intriguing and influential bands of their time.


Request RejectedThe requested URL was rejected. If you think this is an error, please contact the webmaster.

Your support ID is: 4184029300633867717


Fan sites
Sonic Tooth
Sonic Truth
S.S. Beat Control
Starfield Road

Sonic Life
Jim O'Rourke
Summer Of Youth
Sonic Youth Newsgroup
Stefano Giovannini

Official Store
Ecstatic Yod
Forced Exposure


Protest Records
Experimental Jet Set
BB Gun Magazine
Jim O'Rourke
Mike Watt


  Website by Jani Komulainen and Neven Mrgan.
Copyright © 1998-2020 SLSY. +
top of page top