SLSY January 21, 2020

SLSY is an unofficial Sonic Youth website
and community for fans worldwide, est. 1998

Latest News

Click here for news archive.

Trees Outside The Academy
June 25, 2007

'Trees Outside the Academy', Thurston's first record of solo songs since 1995's 'Psychic Hearts', will be released this September. His band consists of Steve on drums and Samara Lubelski on violin. Tracks were cut at J Mascis' Amherst studio and Mascis guests on the album along with Christina Carter, Andrew Macgregor, John Moloney, and Leslie Keffer.


1. frozen gtr 4:06
2. the shape is in a trance 4:39
3. honest james 3:49
4. silver>blue 5:51
5. fri/end 3:19
6. american coffin 3:56
7. wonderful witches 2:24
8. off work 4:12
9. never day 4:01
10. free noise among friends :34
11. trees outside the academy 5:50
12. thurston@13 2:37

More info here.

Sonic Youth
Sonic Youth, initially comprising of guitarist / vocalists Thurston Moore and Lee Ranaldo, guitarist / bassist / vocalist Kim Gordon and drummer Richard Edson, were formed in New York City in 1981. A product of the No-Wave music scene of the late 1970s, the group had their roots in abrasive, experimental music, with Moore and Ranaldo having previously worked with the experimental composer Glenn Branca. The band were joined in 1985 by drummer Steve Shelley, and have now recorded 14 albums together, as well as many side and solo projects. Their work has been consistently challenging and innovative, and they are widely regarded as one of the most intriguing and influential bands of their time.


Request RejectedThe requested URL was rejected. If you think this is an error, please contact the webmaster.

Your support ID is: 4184029300646068995


Fan sites
Sonic Tooth
Sonic Truth
S.S. Beat Control
Starfield Road

Sonic Life
Jim O'Rourke
Summer Of Youth
Sonic Youth Newsgroup
Stefano Giovannini

Official Store
Ecstatic Yod
Forced Exposure


Protest Records
Experimental Jet Set
BB Gun Magazine
Jim O'Rourke
Mike Watt


  Website by Jani Komulainen and Neven Mrgan.
Copyright © 1998-2020 SLSY. +
top of page top