SLSY January 21, 2020

SLSY is an unofficial Sonic Youth website
and community for fans worldwide, est. 1998

Latest News

Click here for news archive.

At Home With The Groovebox
January 30, 2000

At Home With the Groovebox, due April 4, features an all-star cast of musicians creating new songs on the compact, programmable Roland Groovebox, which can reproduce sounds from such classic Roland instruments as the 808 drum machine and the 303 bass machine. The experiment yielded 14 strange and unexpected tunes from such musicians as rockers Sonic Youth and Sean Lennon and electronic-music pioneers Dick Hyman and Gershon Kingsley.

The full track listing for At Home With the Groovebox:
Jean Jacques Perrey, "The Groovy Leprechauns"; Buffalo Daughter, "303 606 = ACID"; John McEntire, "J.I.H.A.D."; Air, "Planet Vega"; Pavement, "Robyn Turns 26"; Money Mark, "Insects Are All Around Us"; Beck, "Boyz"; Sean Lennon, "Winged Elephants"; Gershon Kingsley, "Popcorn"; Sonic Youth, "Campfire"; Bis, "Oh My"; Cibo Matto, "We Love Our Lawyers"; Bonnie "Prince" Billy, "Today I Started Celebrating Again" and Dick Hyman, "Glass Slipper."

Grand Royal
Sonic Youth
Sonic Youth, initially comprising of guitarist / vocalists Thurston Moore and Lee Ranaldo, guitarist / bassist / vocalist Kim Gordon and drummer Richard Edson, were formed in New York City in 1981. A product of the No-Wave music scene of the late 1970s, the group had their roots in abrasive, experimental music, with Moore and Ranaldo having previously worked with the experimental composer Glenn Branca. The band were joined in 1985 by drummer Steve Shelley, and have now recorded 14 albums together, as well as many side and solo projects. Their work has been consistently challenging and innovative, and they are widely regarded as one of the most intriguing and influential bands of their time.


Request RejectedThe requested URL was rejected. If you think this is an error, please contact the webmaster.

Your support ID is: 4184029300614439614


Fan sites
Sonic Tooth
Sonic Truth
S.S. Beat Control
Starfield Road

Sonic Life
Jim O'Rourke
Summer Of Youth
Sonic Youth Newsgroup
Stefano Giovannini

Official Store
Ecstatic Yod
Forced Exposure


Protest Records
Experimental Jet Set
BB Gun Magazine
Jim O'Rourke
Mike Watt


  Website by Jani Komulainen and Neven Mrgan.
Copyright © 1998-2020 SLSY. +
top of page top